Good Morning!

I am working up my book review for Sock Innovation, by Cookie A. I took pics this morning of the sock patterns that you could knit in the book, leaving out any pattern instructions so that you have to buy the book if you want it.. 🙂 I thought that the patterns in the book don’t seem to be that complicated, even though they look very complicated with the cables, twisted stitches, and lacey socks patterns.  I am a very newbie sock knitter, but these patterns look as if I could do them without pulling my hair out or making me go completely gray while trying to do one of the patterns! The stitches are ones that I am familiar with, so I can figure it out.

From what I can tell so far, Cookie A really goes into the construction of a sock from the toes all the way up to the top of the sock. She shows you the different toe types you can knit. She shows you the basic stitch patterns, as well as the harder ones. She explains about the different yarns one can use to make socks, along with the needles needed to do the same. She speaks of the construction of the charted pattern versus the written one.

I found all of this just flipping through it this morning when I got up. I will post more about the book once I have a chance to get into the meat of it and read it through. I think that I will FINALLY be able to get the gusset and the heel and how to prevent that little hole between the 2 as she addresses that.

On a totally different subject…

I am now on to  figuring out how to do a proper YO when you are purling the stitch behind it. That is not addressed in this book review, but I need to learn how to do it. When I do a YO, it is normally on the right side of the work right before a knit stitch that normally follows the YO. Of course, when I purl back on the wrong side of the work the YO is purled to create a nice hole for my lace work.

This pattern, however, calls for YO on both sides of the work, and the YO before a purl stitch is stumping me. I am working on 198 Yards of Heaven, free on Ravelry, for my 5-year-old niece, Katie. You can find the pattern here:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/198-yds-of-heaven

She loves pretty, feminine things, you know. She loves pink, especially hot pink. This is a shawlette for adult women, but on her it will be a shawl for a long time before it becomes a shawlette or scarf she can wear when she grows up. I am hoping that she will grow to love wearing it as much as I loved making it for her. Anyway, if I am needing to make a YO on the knitted side of things, I simply bring my yarn forward as if I am going to purl and then I knit the next stitch, which puts the required YO right in line where it is supposed to be. With the next stitch being a purl, I can’t do a YO that way. Any ideas or links you could offer to explain this to me would be most appreciated!

Thank you for reading this post. A much longer one is to follow later in the week. Someone told me recently that she likes to read my blog because even though I write long posts they don’t bore her!  LOL!! She just doesn’t know.. LOLOL!!!  I am sure I will succeed in boring her to tears at least ONCE. 😉 Hey, Latasha!

Have a great day everyone!  I am off to work now, even though I would SO rather be knitting. 🙂

Linda